A team of more than 60 experienced PR professionals will judge the Excellence Awards entries in our two-stage judging process.

At stage one, judges will form teams of two to judge each entry in their specialist category and select the shortlist.

At stage two, all judges will come together and work in new groups to review the category shortlists and select the winners.

If you’re shortlisted in the Outstanding Young Communicator or Independent PR Practitioner of the Year category, you’ll also be invited to attend a 20-minute online panel interview. This is an opportunity for the judges to learn more about you.

All judges sign a confidentiality agreement before judging commences and a replacement judge is sourced if any conflicts of interest arise.

Chairs of Judges

The role of the Chairs of Judges is to preside over the judging team to resolve any disputes, questions or differences of opinion that arise during the judging process.

Our 2021 Chairs of Judges are:

  • Paul Mylrea Found.Chart.PR FCIPR, Past CIPR President and Director of Communications at the University of Cambridge
  • Sandra Macleod FCIPR, Group CEO at Echo Research

Our 2021 Panel of Judges can be viewed here